Usually because of spammers, friends that change or lose their e-mail, or contacts you no longer talk to.
Yes, you can organize them into groups, and you can block them. But the MSN protocol and all the evolutions it has suffered have left some serious room for messiness.
This tutorial tries to explain the basics for cleaning your MSN contacts.
You should login to your Live Messenger account and change your password (for safety reasons, but you can skip this step)
Login to http://home.live.com and click options. Then account options or change password. Change your password into something temporary for this tutorial.
1. List Rebuilder Tool:
Go to http://www.msngeeks.com/msn and use their List Rebuilder Tool
From the site: «This tool will delete all unnecessary contacts in your allow and block lists. Unnecessary being contacts you’ve deleted from your forward list, and who have also deleted you from their forward list.»
2. Miranda IM Contact Tool:
2.1 Download and install Miranda Instant Messenger:
Miranda is a MultiProtocol IM that comes with a useful tool.
Download it at:
2.2 Configure Miranda for your Hotmail account:
Go like this:
Main Menu -> accounts -> add -> enter your MSN ID and password
2.3 Go Online:
This means you should enter your MSN through Miranda. When you see your contact list come up, similar to normal MSN Messenger, you know it is working.
2.4 Use Miranda IM management list tools:
Go like this:
Main menu -> options -> network -> (your ID) -> server list
2.5 Change the information in your MSN contact list:
This is the information in your main Messanger Server list. It is a list of all the contacts connected to you and of their current state towards you. The stars represent the contact states. Give or take stars to change state.
Here’s how it works:
- Server list contacts: appears on your contact list as you login;
- Allowed (Active) contacts: can see your online status (can see if you’re online or not);
- Blocked contacts: cannot talk to you. Someone can’t be Blocked and Allowed at the same time.
- Somebody included you in his/her server list (yellow stars): people that have you on their server list. You have no control over this.
- Server, Allowed: can see you online, appears on your list, can talk (this is the default);
- Server: cannot see you online, appears on your contact list, can talk;
- Allowed: can see you online, does not appear on your contact list, can talk;
- Blocked: cannot see you online, does not appear on your contact list, cannot talk to you;
- Server, Blocked: cannot see when you are online, appears on your contact list. Possible to talk to, but ONLY if you start the conversation. This is kind of a hack.
- There is no true way to remove contacts from your main Messenger Server list, if they include you on their server list (i.e. if they have a yellow star);
- The only straightway to keep someone from sending you an invite every time you login, is to block contacts. Or, if you just want your contact list uncluttered, and still want to be able to get messages from a user, keep them only in your active list.
- If you remove someone from your server list and you are not on their server list (i.e. if they dont have a yellow star), they will be removed from your main Messenger Server list altogether. This means they will not appear in the Miranda tool anymore. Thus, putting someone only in your active list is like an invitation for them to remove you. So be careful.
- Final note: After finishing Step 2, you can repeat Step 1 – Rebuilder Tool – just in case. You could also use this occasion to clean your email contact list on live.com accordingly. Although Hotmail and Messenger lists are pretty much independent.
This all is confusing at first. So let’s try to clarify it with an example.
Joe and Mary:
- Joe meets Mary. Mary gives Joe her Messenger ID.
- Joe adds Mary as a messenger contact. Mary is added to Joe’s main Messenger Server list. Mary is therefore added to Joe’s server list and allowed list. Joe is also added to Mary’s main Messenger Server list.
- The next time Mary logs in, Joe is already in her main Messenger Server list. She is then asked if she wants to add Joe to her server and allowed lists. The only other choice is to block him. If she doesn’t pick one of these, she will be asked the same question on every login.
- After a while, Joe tries some “sweet” moves on Mary. Mary blocks him as a result.
- Joe is added to Mary’s blocked list, and thus removed from Mary’s server and active list.
- Joe gets a girlfriend and stops using “sweet” moves on Mary.
- Mary removes Joe from her blocked list. Joe is then no longer blocked.
- But, Mary doesn’t have much to talk to him, so she just adds him to her allowed list. Not to her server list. This is something she can do because she has read this tutorial.
- In such way, Joe does not appear on Mary’s contact list (which is the server list). But he can still talk to her if he wants.
- If Mary didn’t add Joe to her allowed list after unblocking him, she would be asked to add him to both her server list and allowed list every time she logged in. This way she keeps her contact list uncluttered and avoids annoying messenger prompts.
- The other alternative would be to add Joe to her server and blocked lists. This way she could talk to Joe normally, but only when she started the conversation.